Weekly Wrap-up | July.23.2017

This week has been a rough week for me … and I really don’t know why. I have been super unmotivated and¬†a little mopey … it’s pretty depressing ūüėõ

Anyway … I am sorry for being quiet this past week but things have been crazy around here and I am behind on about 90345 things I need to do right now … EEK!

Weekly posts

Game of Thrones | Book Tag

Audiobook Monday | July.17.2017


Currently reading

The Copper Promise by Jen WilliamsThe Copper Promise (The Copper Cat #1) by Jen Williams

This book has been siting on my CR list for weeks! But I am honestly still reading through it a few pages at a time. It’s not a bad read and it’s not that I’m not enjoying it … I just feel like taking it pieces at a time. Not to mention how swamped I have been with my reading and writing lately!

 

 

 


 

The Near Witch by Victoria SchwabThe Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

In a few short weeks I will be going to see the queen herself and I am SO EXCITED OMG!!! I seriously hope I can remember how to act like an adult human in from of Victoria Schwab … but I honestly doubt it …

Anyway … I have decided to read the last remaining Schwab books on my TBR in anticipation starting with this one and finishing with the Archived series next!

The standalone novel was Schwab’s debut and I have to say …¬†for a debut fantasy this book is really quite great! It’s got a lot of the darkness I have come to know and love from Schwab, and while it would not stand toe to toe with her later series work … this is a really enjoyable story.

 


Too Late by Colleen HooverToo Late by Colleen Hoover

I picked this book up a while ago on Kindle Unlimited … but the first chapter hit way too close to home for me and I was not emotionally ready to tackle my ghosts. This month, I have KU again and I felt like I was better prepared to take this on seeing as how I knew what to expect. I have to be honest though … I do have to keep putting this down at places other people probably do not … and I have already cried a few times and not because of this story … but because of my own. Somehow CoHo managed to write a large chunk of my own life into this story and I know this is going to be crushing … will someone please hold my hand?


 

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky ChambersThe Long Way to a Small Angry Planet (Wayfarers #1) by Becky Chambers

I started this audiobook about a week ago and have not really had a lot of time for it … but it is a really interesting, diverse world and I am excited for it!

I love a slow burn plot and really developed characters and relationships … and this book has all that! So I am fully expecting to love this series when I’m done ūüôā

 

 

 


Gathering Darkness by morgan rhodesGathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes

This week the Falling Kingdoms Fantasy League completed chapters¬†5-10 … this upcoming week we will be taking a week off for some of us to catch up (remember how I said I was a thousand years behind on like everything?)

This is book 3 in the Falling Kingdoms series and the next book being read by the Falling Kingdoms Fantasy League. The series has some serious issues, but reading with this group has been a lot of fun!

 

 


Finished Reading

hunted by meagan spoonerHunted by Meagan Spooner

Well … this book didn’t exactly woo me. It was enjoyable enough but it was not amazing or epic for me. This retelling of Beauty and the Beast was a unique take on the classic fairytale. Unfortunately, I was not able to connect to the relationship between Beauty and Beast … and that’s sort of the point yeah? I adored the other relationships in this story … between the sisters, between friends … so the romance was stilted … it was not well developed and did not have enough of a foundation to make me feel … anything. I ended up giving this a 3.5/5 star rating.

 


The Player and the Pixie (Rugby #2) by LH Sosway and Penny ReidThe Player and the Pixie (Rugby #2) by L.H. Cosway, Penny Reid

After reading Hunted and¬†getting very little accomplished on my other fantasy reads … I decided¬†I was starting to slump on the fantasy and decided to feed my New Adult cravings with this horribly titled¬†(and fugly covered) book. You guys! This book was great! I loved it! These characters were so much fun and this romance was a beautiful hate-to-love trope that I ADORED! Sean is seriously bae. So broody and snarky but deep down he’s a tender broken boy¬†who was terribly hard not to fall head over hills in love with! I gave this book a 4.5/5 star rating but I may decide on a full 5 … maybe.


Just a Little Junk by Stylo FantomeJust a Little Junk by Stylo Fantome

Continuing with my New Adult Kindle Unlimited kick … I have had this book on my tbr since this adorable cover caught my eye a few months ago. I promised I would give it a try next time I had KU so here we are … and OMG IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!!!

I was not expecting to love this book so much because 1) it sounded sort of dumb 2) I don’t care for mystery suspense …¬† but I was wrong … I was so wrong to judge!

Ok yeah … it’s dumb … in a less ridiculous The Hangover or Bridesmaids sort of way … but hilarious and sexy and ‚̧

Yeah … I don’t want to give too much away here but this book was great guys … ok … GREAT! I gave this a 4.5/5 star rating but this one might get a full 5 as well … we will have to see how I feel in another day or two.

 

 


Weekly Outlook

Hopefully things will chill out a bit this week and I can regain some of my sanity and motivation and positive energy!

This next week I¬†plan to continue tackling my Goodreads Currently Reading list.¬†I¬†have sworn to get it down to a manageable number by focusing on completing the books I have already started before adding a million more … it’s not going well … oops.

I will be adding my bookish bestie Roxy¬†to the blog as a guest reviewer¬†this week starting with a meet and¬†greet interview and introduction post this upcoming Thursday.¬†which should be great! I was supposed to do it this past week but … life. Anyway, she reads more contemporary books while I tend to sway more toward the fantasy genre. I think this will be an awesome new partnership and allow me to get more reviews up on the blog in both genres. We also have a new idea for a fun conversation style buddy read review feature.

As always, I wish everyone a happy and enjoyable week!


What books are you currently reading? What books did you recently finish reading? What do you have planned for the upcoming week?

I would love to hear about your week as well! Comment below!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up | July.23.2017

  1. aravenclawlibrary says:

    I feel you about Too Late. I dealt with something similar and that book took a lot for me to get through even though it’s been years. I think some scars don’t ever fade. But the book is really good and I ended up enjoying it a lot.

    Good luck on finishing your current reading list. I know the struggle. lol. I want to add like 5 books but am forcing myself to read one at a time.

    Like

  2. JanilleNG says:

    Great post! I’ve been meaning to read novels by Victoria Schwab and Colleen Hoover for a very long time, so I am always interested to hear what other readers think of their particular novels.

    Happy Reading this week! ūüôā

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

